At the end of each year the club unwinds at the Annual Awards Dinner. Everybody scrubs up (some better then others) and gets their glad-rags on to descend on Newcastle. After some proper nice scran and a tipple or two, the year’s achievements are recognised (both on and off the field). Each year the coaches pick their most improved and athlete of the year. Also members of the club vote for Athlete’s Athlete (athletics side) and Runner’s Runner (X-Country side), with any voting criteria going. The current holders of the “serious” awards are:

  • Athlete of the Year = Justin Cooper
  • Runner of the Year = Amelia Pettitt
  • Most Improved X-Country = Mo Yadegarfar
  • Most Improved Track & Field = Jack Olsen
  • Athlete’s Athlete = Justin Cooper and Sean Garmory
  • Runner’s Runner = Ashok Mathur

As well as celebrating the racing achievements of the year, other awards are given, in the shape of wooden spoons. The spoons given can very from year to year depending on what milestones have been achieved, but some of the spoons given out year after year (and their current holders) are:

  • Athletics Fresher of the Year = Cameron Cutts
  • XC Fresher of the Year = George Henry
  • Couple of the year = Megan Foster and Filip Ferkovic
  • Drunken Mess = Alex Stokes and Megan Foster
  • Best BUCS Performance = Amelia Pettitt
  • Mr NUAXC = Justin Cooper
  • Mrs NUAXC = Rebecca Metin
  • Worst Athletics Attendance = Cameron Glass
  • Worst XC Attendance = Patrick Johnston

Who knows what winners (or losers) this year will bring!!!